Aug 2016 – LOR

Life of Riley continued…
What a start. A week before we left our fridge freezer at home broke down over night, so by the time I came down in the morning everything was defrosted – huge mess!
The day before we leave the hoover got some paper stuck in a part that needed dismantling and I got that out, however I cannot get the wheel screwed back on again, I just left it for when I get back.
First week
We are back in Spain. The trip was not without hitches. We lost our way and drove around for three hrs. The hotel was booked for the day before and the heat was incredible 38 degrees Celsius and no air con in the car, so I had to keep cooling the dogs off with water on their bellies and all windows were open, just don’t imagine what our hairstyles looked like.
The hotel thank goodness still had a room vacant at 11pm, when we finally got there. The room temp was also so hot it took the aircon 2 hrs to cool down to a decent temp. The next morning we got up to drive via Seville/ Cadiz to Manilva. We got to Riley in 9 hrs and it just got hotter we had 43 degrees Celcius in the evening. I was not happy.
All pitches were occupied, next to us unfortunately with a noisy bunch of Spanish who jabbered at the top of their voices till 3am the following morning so not much sleep, between 6-7 I get up to give the dogs a walk in the cooler air of 23 degrees Celsius. The next evening at 10pm we all of a sudden had a security guard banging on the door telling us we have to disconnect all our electric, water, tv and sewage pipe now or they will cut us off. Needless to say I did not. The following morning I find the sewage pipe disconnected and gaffa taped up in a plastic bag under the Bus.
It turns out the noisy bunch accused us of stinking up the place. Which cannot be as we have no water nor toilet working in the bus for months, so we have been using the on site facilities.
Sunday we got our toilet fixed and the water back on, only for me to find after un gaffering the sewage pipe, that it was now broken and so short I can now only just get it into the drainage, but not really be confident in using it. So back to using the on site facilities. Needless to say I am furious.
Oh and did you see the temperature pic on FB now hitting 45 degrees Celsius. At least I can shower the dogs as often as I like with the outside shower/tap.
They love sleeping under the bus during the day.
Monday the temperature is in the 30’s but we finally have sea breeze/wind. It feels a lot better not claggy and not so hot. Today we are going to BBQ for the first time for supper. I am actually sitting outside at the table with the pc and loving it. Well needless to say that didn’t go well, we can’t get the BBQ gas flowing through. So I roasted the chicken in the oven instead to savethe dinner, it was late for us to eat at 9pm not for the Spanish they start at 10pm or 11pm their dinners.
Tuesday and nothing has changed with the sewage pipe, nobody turned up to repair it. Next thing we know we aren’t receiving any UK channels apart from BBCnews on the television. James has being switching and trying everything and every button he can to get it working. Needless to say we are not into watching QVC shopping channel or the Hindi channel and definitely not the Arab news and even BBCnews gets boring after an hour. Patrick turned up and said if we get an HMDI cable we can use the tablet for watching TV with a VPI. However I am not shelling out for a cable and monthly or yearly subscription if we have paid for this satelite tv.
I had to buy a connector three pin campsite plug to three pin UK plug it cost £15, so that I can charge the mobility scooter without having the door of the rv open with a cable running the bus and out the door to the scooter outside at the back of Riley. I can only charge at night when it is cooler as the charger heats up and everything is so dry here any heat source not watched can set the site on fire.
Wednesday
We now know what the problem with the TV is. Someone has pulled the cable out of the earth, cut it through and hid one end in the bushes and slung the rest of the cable over the sat dish.
So we now need an engineer. I tried to connect the two ends with the appropriate clips – no success. The BBQ I think needs a spanish pipe and gas bottle fitting, James thinks every gas bottle is the same, so no BBQ. Back to cooking indoors in the heat. The dogs get cooled everyday with a shower midday, however the wind is now coming from the sea so it is rather pleasant and at night one can at least sleep. I have been running around looking for Miguel who said he would come Tuesday to fix the sewage pipe.
Thursday
Juan, Miguel’s older brother came to fix the sewage pipe – also that doesn’t go to plan. The part (tube)that goes into the pipe that fits into the concrete floor hole all the grey water runs down doesn’t go back into the shortened pipe. It seems the factory it came from had special machinery to get it in. Juan find a plastic bottle cuts it to shape so it now replaces rather badly the concrete hole in the ground and tapes this bottle modification to the pipe with copious amounts of gaffa tape. Doesn’t look pretty nor do I think this is going to be a long term solution, Saturday I will have enough grey water in the tank to try it out. I think it will go everywhere not only in the concrete hole and it will stink ( as standing waste water does).
A good thing is that the dyson hoover I brought with me is working a treat, at least something working well!
We have been out to eat menu del dia a few times as I just don’t want to be cooking everyday also if I do I have to shop every second as the fridge is not that big. I have cut down to two meals a day a small breakfast and dinner or a small breakfast and menu del dia. The dogs are well but not eating well I think it is the heat, little Bo-jangles ate as normal but by the evening he brought it all up on their evening walk.
Friday
I have to groom them again, we all look worse for wear. The hair seems to frizz up (Bo looks like an electrocuted mop, I don’t look much better) and dry out, Ben and Bo swipe up every bit of sticky dirt, leaf or burr they can find and bring it into Riley.
I’ll try some L’Oreal hair oil with UV protection on Bo, see if that helps. The weather report says by Monday we are into the 40+ degrees Celsius again. I will give the dogs frozen chicken as an ice lolly. I have not had any time to do any kind of pics nor video, I will do though.
The site washing machines are in repair, so I have to wait with that as well, I will have to be in the same trousers for a couple of days then. I have about 4 machines full with the sheets counted in. This is the last weekend for the Spanish holiday makers, so the site should become a little more empty by Sunday.
The other good thing I brought with me is the dehydrated dog meat. It would have been awful with flies if I had tinned/wet food and it would have gone off within a couple of hours.
So from now thing ought to get better….
The story continues next week
14067550_10209107004165207_6659497638566970354_n
This entry was posted in Another day in "Paradise", Riley- RV - Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

