Advanced Cat Basket

When you first brought  cat home did you also realised that you didn’t have a bed for him/her? We got the climbing pole, the cage, the food, the toilett, the sand, a combe, the grass and a bowl to grow it in, toys, the cat and even cat candy… But no basket! It was just to expensive to buy at the pet shop. I put together a little bed for her out of a paper box. I put the paper box under our bed so that she could find a quiet and peacefull place to rest when everything was new and lots of people came around for my birthday. She liked to sleep there, in the beginning.

Now she feels safe and sleeps anywhere, in my lap right now. But still, a cat basket… After visiting my friend I saw how her mother had crafted a really nice cat basket for their cats. I decided to do the same!

Smilla
she loves her basket, I love how it looks with her inside it! I’ve tried to make a tutorial, I know lots of you have cats.

Tutorial on how to sew a cat basket

I used a thrifted curtain in thick rosy fabric and excursively for this purpose bougt foam rubber, one package costed 100 SEK and I used almost all of that. So total cost about 100 SEK really, the curtain was just laying around doing no good.

1. cut out stuffing1. Make a pattern and decide how big the floor of the basket should be. I used a round plastic container to make this pattern out of magazine paper.

Then cut out the foam rubber. I cut three of these to make a thick bottom.

2. cut fabric2. Cut out two pieces of fabric and measure how thick and long the edge piece should be and cut that out too.

3. sew the edge3. Use your sewing machine (or do it by hand if you prefer that) and sew the edge to one of the floor fabric pieces.

4. Add the stuffed wall4. Now it is time to make the wall of the basket, and it should cover the rounding of the floor and be high enough for the cat to easily get into and out of the basket and short enough so that it is warm and cosy in there.

I measured the rounding of the floor and then cut what was left of the foam rubber. I sewed together two pieces of fabric and put the foam rubber piece inside of them so and then sewed all of it on place like you see in the picture:

Look at it now.

5. add the floor piece5. Now it is time to add the floor fabric piece. Needle it to place all the way around close to the wall and front of the cat basket.

handsewn6. I hand sew with pink thread all the way around to fasten it and make the bed surface as smoth as possible. Took a bit of time, but was well worth it.

floor added It’s starting to look like a sofa, right?

7. add the celing7. Time to add the ceiling. And then the funny thing happened. As soon as I just placed the curtain edge that I was using as a roof on the cat basket she jumped down from her rest, came to me on the floor – and went straight into her basket. Guess if it made me smile? I was so moved and pleased that she liked it!

So then just cut and hand sew the roof to it’s place and let your cat enjoy a warm, cosy and cute place to sleep in!

This entry was posted in Pets our Friends, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

